this is real life

I was laying on the operating table staring at the white ceiling as I was prepped for my c-section.  I could hear the bustle of the nurses all around me and I could feel my husband’s hands on my shoulder.  I remembering thinking over and over,’This is real life.  This is not a movie.  This is real life.  This is real life…’  I vaugely remember saying it outloud and the anesthesiolgist chuckling at me. They pulled that sweet baby boy into this world and it was indeed real life. 

Lately I have been thinking alot about my life.  Are the choices I am making the ones I know that the Lord wants me to make.  Am I striving to live my life for His ultimate glory…every second of every day?  It seems like sometimes we ((I)) forget that we don’t get second chances in this life.  We are blessed with each moment we are given and we have the responsibility to live a life that is in God’s will. 

Becoming a mom has me thinking more and more about this.  God has blessed me with this sweet baby boy to nurture, love on, and teach about His love.  Am I living my life in such a way that my son can look to me and see Christ? Because, let’s be honest friends, we have one shot at this life.  There are no do-overs and no take-backs.  The choices we make today will have an impact on our lives forever.  This doesn’t mean that we are going to be perfect.  We will make mistakes, we are guaranteed that.  But, we are also guaranteed that we have the strength of our mighty God to lean upon during those times.  The love of a Savior who gives us grace when we fall and encouragment to get back on track with Him.

I have found myself lately giving excuses for not spending my time with the Lord. “I’m too tired” “I have to… (insert: wash dishes, fold laundry, feed the baby,  bathe the baby, blah blah blah)”  “I want to…(insert: wash t.v., get on the computer….)”  “I don’t have time”. 

I remember the days where I would spend time every single day in prayer and reading scripture.  I miss that.  I miss being totally devoted to God.  I have allowed my ‘doing’ to get in the way of my ‘being’ with Christ.

This is real life.  And in this real life we have been given the freedom to chose what we do with our time, money, ect..  You can look at your life and see what has top priority.  Have you given God’s time to something/someone else?  I know I have.  I have placed myself before my Savior.  But, not any more. It’s time we ((I)) get back to the basics and totally devote ourselves to  Him.

 

About crazymayes

I'm a wife to a crazy youth minister, mommy to a sweet baby boy, teacher to 11 hyper five year olds and servant to our Savior. These are my thoughts, ideas, and wonderings...
This entry was posted in Being a Mommy, Life with Christ, Our Crazy Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to this is real life

  1. danardoyle says:

    I’m glad that you and your baby came through that C-Section well! I’ve been feeling the same lately about my (lack of) God time. Being a mother of three and still making time for silence and prayer is a challenge – but so important, I know.

  2. Kristen says:

    Great post. SO true!

Leave a comment